SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    300 Blackout Reloading Discussion
Page 1 2 3 4 ... 29
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

300 Blackout Reloading Discussion Login/Join 
Truth Seeker
Picture of StorminNormin
posted
I am completely new to reloading and have been acquiring all of the equipment and supplies for a while and have been doing as much learning as I can while I waited to get everything together.

I decided to start reloading the 300 Blackout round since it is hard to find and not very cheap and I like the caliber.

I spent yesterday working up some loads to try and find one that works well in my rifle. Unfortunately the round I bought a lot of, the Sierra 125gr OTM .308, does dot have any loading data out their on any of the powder companies websites and I have had a very hard time trying to figure out a starting point and cartridge OAL. The 300 Blackout forum is not very helpful, although there is good information; it is just spread out all over the place and not really organized.

Well I decided to make my OAL to 2.210 since when I did some more reading that would put the ogive of the bullet at the rib in the magazine. Today I went and tested 5 worked up loads and need to work up some more until I find the right fit for me as there were no signs of pressure at the top load I tested today.

Noveske 300BLK
Pistol length gas system
10", 1:7
MagPul PMAG, 30RD
125 gr Sierra OTM
Hodgdon Lil'Gun 15.7gr, 16.0gr, 16.3gr, 16.6gr, 16.9gr
LC 5.56, reformed to 300BLK
CCI 400 Small Rifle
2.210" OAL
1/2 turn light crimp Lee FCD
No Chrono yet
Zero Issues on any of the loads. All feed, fire, and eject fine.
Bolt held open on last round.
I fired 5 rounds suppressed and 5 rounds unsuppressed for each load.
My suppressor is the AAC 762-SDN-6 and with factory ammo there is not much of a shift in POI with the suppressor on or off but I did have POI with each load today.

All shots fired at an indoor range at 50 yards.