SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Police officer comes close to being killed during traffic stop
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Police officer comes close to being killed during traffic stop Login/Join 
Ammoholic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JDSigManiac:
Officers in these situations don’t get advanced warning that this stop or this the call is the one where the guy is going to try to kill you. Officers police day in and day out, week after week, year after year, with moments of pure terror thrown in with no warning.

Brings to mind the old saw about airline flying (with which I have no experience), “Hours and hours of boredom punctuated by moments of sheer terror.”

quote:

I wonder how many of these armchair critics have had an adrenaline dump so severe that you had to deal with the physiological effects while still thinking, acting and reacting.

In the few instances when I came quite close to shuffling off this mortal coil, they happened so fast I didn’t have time to get scared shitless, only react as best I could. It was only after the fact, considering how it could have worked out differently, that the shakes showed up. None of my experiences lasted anywhere near as long as hers, and none of them involved another human being trying to kill me. I’d like to think I’d have done things differently, but I really have no clue. I wasn’t there.

Posts: 6926 | Location: Lost, but making time. | Registered: February 23, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of HOGSTR
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by copaup:
I’ll disagree.

I’ve been a cop in a violent city for more than twenty years. I’ve been in 4 fights over a gun I can remember off hand. I’ve used my weapon. I’m not boasting about it, just establishing that I might know what I’m talking about.