SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Parris Island recruits had a ‘choice’ to go to ‘war’ — here’s what happened:
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Parris Island recruits had a ‘choice’ to go to ‘war’ — here’s what happened: Login/Join 
Staring back
from the abyss
Picture of Gustofer
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Rey HRH:
Marines are supposed to be combatants first and whatever their MOS is second.

I was a soldier, not a Marine. But, I argued with my CO one day on this exact topic. An E-4 arguing with an O-3...how do you think that went? Big Grin

I told him I was a medic first, then a soldier. He disagreed. I got out shortly thereafter. Big Grin

Posts: 20099 | Location: Montana | Registered: November 01, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Gustofer:
quote:
Originally posted by Rey HRH:
Marines are supposed to be combatants first and whatever their MOS is second.

I was a soldier, not a Marine. But, I argued with my CO one day on this exact topic. An E-4 arguing with an O-3...how do you think that went? Big Grin

I told him I was a medic first, then a soldier. He disagreed. I got out shortly thereafter. Big Grin

I have a lot of respect for the USMC. Their battle history speaks for itself.

But - a lot of their mystique is them believing their own bullshit.

And because they rely on the Navy for lots of log support and have a much smaller force - they can maintain a higher combat to non combat ratio of personnel.

------------------------

Proverbs 27:17 - As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.

Posts: 8940 | Location: Florida | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Mind games are stupid. The tried and true approach follows. Note not one curse word just pure Jack Webb

Posts: 17236 | Location: Stuck at home | Registered: January 02, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A Grateful American
Picture of sigmonkey