SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Driverless Cars expected to be available soon
Page 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Driverless Cars expected to be available soon Login/Join 
eh-TEE-oh-clez
Picture of Aeteocles
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by konata88:
I'll admit I don't know much about the technology.

What would it do, for example, if:

1) A kid suddenly runs out into the street? As a driver, I can make a decision to swerve and hit an adjacent car or even opposing traffic vs hitting the kid. Or if it's a coyote, maybe I would choose to hit the coyote. What decisions and on what basis would the technology make while the driver is sleeping, playing on his phone, doing her makeup or whatever?

2) lots more but maybe start slow...

First, you have to acknowledge that humans make bad judgment calls all the time. Millions of automobile "accidents" happen every year when someone should have reacted one way but instead reacted a different way.

Humans have poor reaction speeds compared to machines. Given a situation where a human and machine must purely react to a situation, the computer will be able to do it faster and more reliably than any human. In this instance, if the situation merely presented a child vs a coyote, the computer will likely be able to make the better choice than the human--the computer would know the exact speed of the vehicle, direction of travel/momentum, available traction, and can be programmed to look in all 360 degrees at the same time, etc. Given your example, a car can be taught to identify a person versus an animal, and can probably arrive at that distinction faster than a person can.