SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Bourbon Bonanza: Update: It's only money...
Page 1 ... 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 ... 129
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bourbon Bonanza: Update: It's only money... Login/Join 
Picture of konata88
posted Hide Post
I'd like to get a decent bottle of bourbon that I would like. I could use some help as it seems that there are too many possibilities and it depends one's preferences. Like scotch (peaty vs not, etc); I love Highland Park. And Glenmorangie Port Cask. It's a little confusing although it seems like Buffalo Trace seems to be a universally accepted brand.

I'm not an expert but I've liked Maker's Mark (basic one) before. And usually order Old Fashioned's using it - mostly because I'm familiar w/ it now. And I've been okay with Gentleman Jack (regular Jack, not as much).

I've had Knob Creek and a few others (can't recall names) and they were just too strong for me. I couldn't finish them, even when used in mint julep.

I think I prefer lower proof, smooth/mild, perhaps something on the sweeter side. Thinking of this, this is my preference for scotch, wine and sake as well. I'd like to drink straight or with a cube of ice but open to Old Fashioned.

Perhaps a step up from Maker's Mark? Similar characteristics but higher quality?

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 12719 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Made from a
different mold
Picture of mutedblade
posted Hide Post
Konata, try finding a bottle of Blanton’s. It has a really nice bottle and as far as bourbons go it is very smooth, meaning little to no burn that may be associated with others. Not sure what pricing looks like for a 750ml bottle out west, but here in VA the government runs the ABC stores and keeps the price around $60.