SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Thinking about picking up a P239
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Thinking about picking up a P239 Login/Join 
posted
I'm thinking about picking up a P239 for carrying. I am a retired federal agent and I carried several Sigs through out my career. Started out with a P226 as a real cop, then a P228 when I went to the federal government. Finally retired carrying a P229 in .357 Sig. All great guns, reliable and accurate. My issue is the grips don't fit my hand very well. The double stack is too wide for a comfortable grip. Now that I don't have to carry one for a living, I'd like something familiar, but easier to conceal and handle. Any thoughts? I like single stack mags, I don't really care for striker fired guns, and I like metal with a little weight to dampen the recoil. Any thoughts or other guns I'm missing?

Posts: 20 | Location: Maryland | Registered: August 12, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
The drawback would be, since the P239 is no longer in production, aftermarket support will be a little hard to come by.

Q

Posts: 26179 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peripheral Visionary
Picture of tigereye313
posted Hide Post
Could find a Kahr K9.

Posts: 11345 | Location: Texas | Registered: January 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
quote:
Any thoughts or other guns I'm missing?

Check out the P225. Also discontinued, and also single-stack, but the grip fits my hand better than the P239, which is just a hair too small. I want to love the P239 as I really like the form factor, but it just doesn't work for me. I'd try them both as YMMV.

Posts: 8377 | Location: In the Cornfields | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post