SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Any experts on old Smith revolvers ?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any experts on old Smith revolvers ? Login/Join 
Ermagherd,
10 Mirrimerter!
Picture of ElKabong
posted
I’m pretty good on these, but would like a 2nd opinion

Nickel 2nd model 44 hand ejector
Finish is spectacular with perfect roll marks but I’m guessing a factory refinish
Stamped E4 and N under the grips

Rifling is pretty thin and there is a football shaped cutout on the top strap

Looks like someone machined it to clean up some flame cutting

What say the collective ?
https://i.postimg.cc/vT75JRV7/...-A-155-EEDAFD172.jpg

I quit school in elementary because of recess.......too many games
--Riff Raff--

Posts: 2917 | Location: WV | Registered: September 02, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
Im no expert, but that does not seem like an ideal place to be milling material out of the top strap. That gun is also incredibly clean around the forcing cone...either somebody went way above and beyond with cleaning (I'm really anal, but I've never figured out how to get all traces of lead spatter out from the area between the forcing cone and top strap on my revolvers), or that gun hasn't been shot much, if at all, since that milling/refinishing was done.

Posts: 8570 | Location: In the Cornfields | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
That indentation is called a "fouling cup" and is found on early S&Ws. I faintly recall it was designed originally for black powder ammo. Looks like a nice gun from the 1 pic you provide, but more pics would be helpful.

Jerry

Posts: 158 | Location: Oregon | Registered: November 23, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ermagherd,
10 Mirrimerter!
Picture of ElKabong
posted Hide Post
It’s in a pawn shop
I can get it for $1000
If it’s original finish that’s a steal