SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    6 year old Oregan boy contracts tetanus, almost dies, spends 47 days in ICU, parents still refuse vaccine
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

6 year old Oregan boy contracts tetanus, almost dies, spends 47 days in ICU, parents still refuse vaccine Login/Join 
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by kz1000:
Child abuse.

That’s it, and should be treated as such.

6.4/93.6

“Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”
— Plato

Posts: 47366 | Location: 10,150 Feet Above Sea Level in Colorado | Registered: April 04, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tatortodd:
Most of the anti-vaxxers that I have encountered haven't had a science class since high school and barely got by then. They might have college degrees but they aren't in the sciences.

I have an advanced degree in science (engineering actually) and I have been accused of being an "anti-vaxxer" for pointing out that it is not a simple as the "pro-vaxxers" would like it to be.

Vaccines definitely have a real risk associated with them also. We could get into the details of Guillen-Barre-syndrome, manufacturing errors, infections, etc, etc, etc, etc, but it would side-track the issue. I think the main point is simply this: If a person has any "human rights" at all, then certainly they have the right to refuse to be injected with a foreign substance against their will.
Maybe it is a "stupid decision"; but they have a right to make that decision. Yes, even in that case of children. Parents make stupid decisions for children all the time.
The danger of catching a rare disease is. IMO, far lower than the danger of having a government presume to be able to tell citizens what they MUST be injected with.