SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    18-year-old friend of my 18 y.o. daughter going on European hostel trip alone...bad idea?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

18-year-old friend of my 18 y.o. daughter going on European hostel trip alone...bad idea? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Aeteocles:
quote:
Originally posted by Alpine79830:
quote:
quote:
Adult?
Not Adult?

You raise an interesting point. If she's asking for permission to go, she's not really ready for it.

I stopped asking for permission to do things and to travel places well before I graduated from high school. I simply let my parents know where I was headed, but so long as I had money in my wallet, I didn't ask or expect permission from them.

Counselor, read the original post. 18 years old, high school graduate, asking for funding... the discussion has moved beyond what you accomplished as a child to what the moral, legal implications are, not to be rude but got it?

Got it. My comment was a round about way of saying, "It may depend on how mature she is."

18 is the age of majority, but it doesn't make someone mature. If she's asking for permission, it's okay to say no: she's the one not mature enough to rely on her own decision making. If she's asking for money, then yeah, the OP absolutely gets to decide if he wants to gift this to her now, never gift it to her at all, or to give her money for this or anything else down the road.
Got it, I assumed the OP said she was asking for finance' OP?

Posts: 693 | Location: West of the Pecos | Registered: July 29, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Never miss an
opportunity to STFU
posted Hide Post