SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    What pisses you off about car manufacturers?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What pisses you off about car manufacturers? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Using soy-based wiring insulation to satisfy some stupid ill-conceived "green" initiative. Only the taste buds of the local rodent population see any benefit to this switchover. If there was only a way to give mice and rats soy-based allergies. I also hate how automotive engineers feel compelled to take every cubic millimeter available in the engine bay and just fill it with "stuff". Even doing simple tasks like changing a burned out bulb means an hour or three of automobile deconstruction. My 20 yr old Volvo excels at that time vampire exercise.

I have little recent experience with car makers; aside from our new car purchase from last year, the rest of our cars are at least 18 years old. With those, the biggest gripe is that new factory parts are getting harder to find, but you can't reasonably blame the car manufacturer for that.

-MG

Posts: 2188 | Location: The commie, rainy side of WA | Registered: April 19, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Make America Great Again
Picture of bronicabill
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by vthoky:
quote:
Originally posted by bronicabill:
My 2013 VW Jetta needed a new battery, so I go to my local auto parts to buy one, and was informed the computer had to be "reset" to work with the new battery

Been there recently! That battery wasn't cheap, neither. Eek

Nope! I bought a new battery for my 2000 Honda Accord about 2 years ago and it was under $100.00 out the door at my local Wally World. The replacement battery plus programming on the Jetta was something like $265.00 out the door... money I didn't really have at the time so had to resort to credit to pay for it!

quote:
Originally posted by shovelhead: