SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Dillon press or?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dillon press or? Login/Join 
Picture of kimberkid
posted
I’ve been reloading for 29-30 years, started with a Dillon 550, then about 5 years later my wife got me another 550 for Christmas … one for small and one for large primers. I’m thinking about adding a 3rd machine for 9mm only and I’m wondering if I should get a Square-Deal or what else I should consider.

My small primer machine had been pretty much dedicated to 223/5.56 and unlike my large primer machine which is for 45/308/8mm and most recently 6.5 Creedmoor, they all use the same shell plate, in fact that plate has never been changed in the 25 years I’ve had it; which is nice because getting the tension just right on the indexer on the small primer machine has been somewhat of a PITA. I don’t know if I’ve lost a shim/spacer that fits under the indexer bolt or what. If I get it too tight (just a bit more than finger tight) it binds the indexer and if too loose, then things don’t always line up right and I either damage the shell in stage 1 (the de-prime station), or I have to wiggle it so everything does line up.

Anyway, my Dillons have both given me decades of trouble free service, and I’ve never needed their “No BS Warranty” but I’m open to suggestions as this isn’t a situation I’m going to tolerate.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: kimberkid,

If you really want something you'll find a way ...
... if you don't you'll find an excuse.

I'm really not a "kid" anymore ... but I haven't grown up yet either Wink

Posts: 5700 | Registered: January 11, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Deal In Lead
Picture of Flash-LB
posted Hide Post
I would never get a Square Deal B if I were you and the reason is the proprietary dies.

If you decide to change calibers later on, you can't use any dies but Dillon Square Deal B dies.