SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    An introduction to the AR15
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

An introduction to the AR15 Login/Join 
posted
My daughter is coming to see me today and bringing her boyfriend with her. She mentioned a while ago that she wanted to shoot and I told her whenever she wanted to was fine.
Her boyfriend knows I have a few ARs and wants to shoot one. I just mounted the Aimpoint I bought from my friend so I'm going to zero it today.
I've taught a handful of people to shoot a handgun but never a rifle. I'm no expert on either but decent. Safety is always 1st in my book so that will be emphasized ALOT.
What is a good range for a brand new rifle shooter to shoot at? 25 yards? 100? He's never shot any kind of firearm before.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.

Posts: 3652 | Location: The armpit of Ohio | Registered: August 18, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
Do you have a rimfire rifle?

Posts: 107223 | Registered: January 20, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by parabellum:
Do you have a rimfire rifle?

I do. A few bolt, semi autos and lever actions.
Never thought of that as he said he wanted to shoot an AR.

Posts: 3652 | Location: The armpit of Ohio | Registered: August 18, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
Start with the basics, and then he can try being Johnny Rambo.

posted Hide Post
quote:

Excellent idea. Thank you Para.

Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
Muzzle discipline

Muzzle discipline

Muzzle discipline

Lead slingin'
Parrot Head
Picture of Modern Day Savage
posted Hide Post
quote:

Solid advice.