SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    5-shot revolver. If not dead, on life support?
Page 1 ... 8 9 10 11
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

5-shot revolver. If not dead, on life support? Login/Join 
Big Stack
posted Hide Post
It would be interesting to here from our gun store guys as to what the sales ratio of wheelies to autos really is? It would also be interesting to know the ratio of snubbed to total revolvers.

Posts: 21240 | Registered: November 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I agree with the OP that the 5-shot snub is on life support. I think the OP's assessment that those who most often carry snubbies are older folks who grew up with them is spot on right and rarely mentioned.

I've been an Arkansas concealed handgun instructor for 20 years (#00-384). According to my records, I've trained approximately 1,000 students (50 or more annually). With complete sincerity, I've probably seen less than 20 snub revolvers during that entire time. It was initially Glock 19s, followed by Glock 26s, followed by an explosion of Ruger LCPs, some Shields, a good number of Ruger LC9s and then the G42 and G43 took off like a rocket. Snub revolvers just aren't in my classes at all. Never have been. When I do see them, they've usually been given to wives by husbands and the wives LOATHE their heavy triggers, poor sights (S&W), and significant recoil. I can't tell you how many times I've seen students put their snubs down, shoot a G26, and never look at the snub again.

At the police academy where I teach, even the older instructors who carried snubs as BUGs have retired them in favor of the G43. The former snub BUGs are gone in my area. We strongly encourage recruits to carry BUGs, and many do, but in the 12 years I've been there, I've never seen a recruit with a 5-shot revolver as a BUG.