SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Light on bedside gun?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Light on bedside gun? Login/Join 
Picture of kgray01
posted Hide Post
I too keep a light on my P226 with the extended 21 rd magazine.

A handheld is also available if needed to get around, but if I hear someone in my home, I'm grabbing only one thing...

1 Sam. 15:28

Posts: 313 | Location: DFW Area | Registered: December 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
quote:
I have my P229, spare mags and a detached Surefire at night. I also have my downstairs lights on a remote control box in my bedroom. If I hear suspicious noises at night I have the option of flipping all/some of the downstairs lights on. Most likely I'm going to hear an Aw S--t and running feet.

This right there is a great point. A number of years back when I was a VERY young cop, we did some building search training where I got paired up with a seasoned veteran who was just about to retire. We made entry into this office building and I'm pieing corners and using my momentary off/on switch and being all tactical...and the old guy just flips the lights on. His point: it evens the playing field, and can even give you the advantage. You know it's coming and it's going to scare or even temporarily blind anybody who's been hiding in the dark. And if you're working your way through the building with a flashlight, he can see you coming way before you're going to see him, no matter how much you flip that flashlight on and off. At least having the lights on gives you an even playing field.