SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    SP101 vs 640 vs 642
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

SP101 vs 640 vs 642 Login/Join 
posted
Based upon the advice that I got in another post, I decided against the Ruger LCR 9mm.

I'm now debating between the Ruger SP101, the S&W 640,and the S&W 642. (I would be carrying 38 not 357). I definitely do not want to have to use moon clips.

It would be for CCW.

If I go with the SP101, I am debating on if I should go hammer or hammerless.

Any feedback?

Posts: 1663 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
The Ruger is more robust and heavier. If you want to carry in your pocket I'd pick one of the S&Ws. For holster carry it will boil down to personal preference. The hammer on my SP-101 is pretty good at shredding my clothes but I have no experience with the hammerless SP-101.

Posts: 26912 | Location: Jerkwater, Texas | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have a 640 Pro and 649, no locks. I would buy either one again.

Posts: 7508 | Location: Florida | Registered: June 18, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The DAO SP101 actually does have a hammer. However its a spurless hammer.
And the hammer will be exposed when you pull the trigger. The top of the hammer comes back out of the frame when firing.
So it may not function well if fired from inside a pocket or other clothing.

No experience with either the 640 or 642, but aren't the hammers shrounded on the Smiths?
Or at least they stay inside the frame when firing?

The Ruger LCR does have an enclosed hammer. And it's much lighter than the SP101.

Hope this helps.

Posts: 603 | Registered: December 12, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Get Off My Lawn
Picture of oddball
posted Hide Post