SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    How similar to a 1911 is the P220 Legion SAO?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How similar to a 1911 is the P220 Legion SAO? Login/Join 
posted
I have a DA/SA P220 and several 1911s, but am eyeing the 220 Legion. On my P226 Legion SAO, the slide can be cycled with the safety on. I like that. Other than that, are there any significant advantages of the 220SAO over a full size 1911?

Posts: 8962 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
I can't find any. Although it depends on which brand and model.

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4581 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post

I don't know if it's an advantage, but I like the way the SIG SAO thumb safety works. It blocks the trigger bar, vs locking the slide. Which means you can rack the slide and load a round with safety on.

When in doubt, mumble

Posts: 10790 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
One advantage the P220 SAO has over the 1911 is reliability- it works out of the box, and is usually more accurate, unless you go to a high-end 1911.