SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Eye doctor convinced me to go with progressives
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Eye doctor convinced me to go with progressives Login/Join 
I Deal In Lead
Picture of Flash-LB
posted Hide Post
Some of the best and least expensive glasses I've ever gotten came from Sam's Club.

Even my ophthalmologist told me to stick with them as they were well made and the lenses were perfect. Considering that he sells glasses and lenses, that was high praise.

Posts: 10626 | Location: Gilbert Arizona | Registered: March 21, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ShouldBFishin
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mark123:
A secondary question, are progressives a compromise?

I've been wearing progressives for about 12 years now. I don't think they are a compromise.

They are dang expensive though, one year I tried to save some money - ordered a pair online from a place that offered the same brand of lens, etc. First pair that came in were horrible, I couldn't see a thing. Replacement pair were a better, but never as good as what I got at the local Ophthalmologist. Lesson learned.

Posts: 1801 | Location: MN | Registered: March 29, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of kg5388
posted Hide Post
Pupil distance and segment height.

Finally found a great Doc and he had me try on the exact glasses that I was getting and used a magic marker to mark my pupils on both lenses. They used this to center my prescription in the lens and used a ruler to determine segment height for the progressive bifocal to start.

My last set the bifocal started to high and I wore my glasses way down on my nose to see over it. Now both my regular and safety glasses match and I am happy with them.

I also got the drivewear transition tint that will also change behind the windshield that I really like. I got tired of switching from clear to tinted glasses all the time