SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Baltimore prepares for protests (Freddie Gray case) Update: 4th Circuit Appeals blocks suit vs Mosby
Page 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 51
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Baltimore prepares for protests (Freddie Gray case) Update: 4th Circuit Appeals blocks suit vs Mosby Login/Join 
BBQ Sauce for Everyone!
Picture of TKO
posted Hide Post
How does that work? They are going to give him immunity from what? Im guessing it doesnt work like it does on TV....

How can they force him to testify?

"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits." Albert Einstein

Posts: 8121 | Location: Phoenix AZ | Registered: May 22, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
wishing we
were congress
posted Hide Post
I'm not a lawyer but I'll give my interpretation of what the article is saying.

The prosecutors will tell the judge they want Porter to testify against Goodson.

They offer immunity from anything he testifies to in Goodson's trial.

Then in June they retry Porter for the charges against him.

The prosecutors will ask the judge to make Porter testify or face contempt charges and have him arrested.

Posts: 19576 | Registered: July 21, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
BBQ Sauce for Everyone!
Picture of TKO
posted Hide Post
I guess what confuses me is that they can compel him to testify in a seperate trial about the same event that he is going to be seperately tried for... What compels him to do so beyond being held in contempt? Cant he be hostile to the prosecution and basically be as uncooperative as the law will allow?

"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits." Albert Einstein

Posts: 8121 | Location: Phoenix AZ | Registered: May 22, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If Lois Lerner can invoke the 5th amendment in front of Congress, it is a travesty of justice if Officer Porter is denied the same privilege in a court of law.