SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    PSA: gas stoves cause indoor air polution
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

PSA: gas stoves cause indoor air polution Login/Join 
Told cops where to go for over 29 years…
Picture of 911Boss
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Georgeair:
quote:
Originally posted by 911Boss:
Also note the “even while not being used” range of numbers cover the “while in use” numbers. Now I am no scientist, but to me that suggests that the range may not be related to the reading. Also how does a gas range not burning gas cause “excess” NO2 which is a byproduct of combustion?

Pretty sure "no food" and your analogy of "not being used" and "not burning gas" are two entirely different things.

Admittedly, I may be misunderstanding the authors point, but that would be on them. To note that separate readings with “no food” suggests to me the idea that the appliance emits NO2 while not being used. If it was on and burning gas, why make a distinction of food or no food?

Quite possible to be misunderstood, but just another example of a poorly written article pushing an agenda.

What part of "...Shall not be infringed" don't you understand???

Posts: 10920 | Location: Western WA state for just a few more years... | Registered: February 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of SPWAMike0317
posted Hide Post
When I was a kid, the kitchen in our house had a gas stove and oven. The stove had a central pilot light and the oven had a pilot light. They burned all the time. I can understand some form of emission, albeit small, from a pilot light. The house I grew up in was well built and warm. It was by no means airtight so any emissions from gas appliances were offset.