SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Should I make a stink about this to CVS?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Should I make a stink about this to CVS? Login/Join 
Gone but Together Again.
Dad & Uncle
Picture of h2oys
posted Hide Post
Late to the party...

My profession is to advise business owners as to the choices of available medical plans for their employee's.

With that said, employers are always complaining about the high cost of health insurance. Why? Most employers pay 80-100% of the cost to cover the employee (ee) and 0% of the cost for the ee to cover his/her dependents.

Since the ee's also have skin in the game, they will also yell about the high cost of health insurance as well.

One of the large drivers of the high cost of medical premiums is drug claims. Carriers get creative about lowering costs and more plans are starting to mandate generic drugs. If carrier "a" can reduce their premiums lower than carrier "b", carrier "a" will sell more policies. Pure capitalism.

If you don't want the generic, then the insurance carrier pays what they would have for the generic towards the brand name. The patient then pays the entire cost difference. Under FDA regs, a generic must legally have the same active ingredients as does the brand name. The only differences are the coating of the pill, the color, the shape, the inert ingredients in the pill, etc.

Put another way, when you buy a car do you pay full MSRP for the car or do you negotiate the price?

Same analogy for prescriptions for the insurance carriers. Why should they pay full MSRP for drugs when they can get the equivalent generic drug at a much lower cost? Trust me, you don't want carriers to pay full MSRP because they will simply "pass through" the higher costs to your employer and to you via higher health insurance premiums.