SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Sigforum Chefs, please share with me your recipes, tips, and tricks for prime rib.
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sigforum Chefs, please share with me your recipes, tips, and tricks for prime rib. Login/Join 
Repressed
Picture of ShneaSIG
posted
For this year's Christmas dinner, I'm hoping to do a prime rib roast for everyone. The problem is that I've never done one before. Sure, I can google about and find some recipes, but I wanted to check with the culinary experts here, first, for what you guys know works, and what doesn't. So, please, educate me!

-ShneaSIG

Oh, by the way, which one's "Pink?"

Posts: 11059 | Location: MO | Registered: November 19, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
10-8
Picture of Apphunter
posted Hide Post
I'm a big fan of the reverse sear method personally.

Season the exterior as you deem appropriate. I usually use Kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, minced garlic, and what ever herbs you like i.e. thyme, rosemary, and sage. Let it sit in the fridge uncovered for a day or two to dry out the exterior for a better browning.

Place in a 250 degree oven until it is about 10 degrees short of your desired doness which should be no higher than 135 degrees. I use my big green egg for this as basically an oven that smokes but I tend to go light on the smoke with something like pecan or alder. If I use a wood with stronger smoke like hickory I just use less wood.

I let it rest for at a bit and the time depends on the size of the roast. The bigger the roast the longer it rests.

Following the rest I will pat all the sides to ensure they are dry and sear in a hot vessel of some sort. If it is small roast I will use a small stainless steel pan. If it is a whole 7 bone roast I will usually use a disposable aluminum roasting pan. Let the roast rest again while you are making he au jois dipping sauce.