SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    How Did Man Come Into Existence?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How Did Man Come Into Existence? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
1) God created us.

Posts: 169 | Location: North of DFW | Registered: July 21, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by IntrepidTraveler:
I wrestle with the concept of God. I'm like Thomas, I suppose - I believe, help me with my unbelief. As an engineer, I tend toward the explanations involving reason and science. But reason and science are not mutually exclusive of a belief in the supernatural.

One thing I have come to realize is that I tend to put God in a box - I create Him in my own image, I try to understand Him from my own ethnocentric point of view. Where, in reality, God is so much more than that and I have no chance of comprehending what He is.

Our understanding of God is like a mosquito's understanding of man. (Poor analogy, but it's all I've got off-the-cuff.) Depending on the mosquito, man is a source of food (the cosmic "Santa Claus"), an annoyance with his constant swatting and repellent, or the being that slaps him out of existence. In reality, the man has so much going on that the mosquito is nothing more than a small part of his reality. Think about it - if you think man is the only thing God has going on, then you have a very inflated view of man's importance and place.

So my answer is a combination of several of the choices.

I don't think I explained myself very well, so I think I'll stop now before I get myself into trouble.

I will have to disagree with you, that man is not that important to God. He gave His Son, that part of Himself for us-not for the mosquito, cow, etc., but to man. He lowered Himself for us. He could have done away with us but did not because of His love for man. He even gave man power over all the animals. That is how much He loves us.