SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Any PVC experts out there?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any PVC experts out there? Login/Join 
Ice age heat wave,
cant complain.
Picture of MikeGLI
posted
Suppose’n I wanted to use 4” schedule 40 PVC as a stand, meaning I’d cut it in to a 4” section and stood it upright, how much weight would it support? Can it hold 400lbs?

What about schedule 80 pvc?

NRA Life Member
Steak: Rare. Coffee: Black. Bourbon: Neat.

Posts: 9698 | Location: Orlando, Florida | Registered: July 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go Vols!
Picture of Oz_Shadow
posted Hide Post
Look up pvc jet ski stands. Most you see are supporting in similar weight and that is lengthwise.

Posts: 17903 | Location: SE Michigan | Registered: February 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Seamus
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert, but I believe the tensile strength on 4" schedule 40 is over 4000lbs. I'm not sure how that relates to compressive strength, but I'd bet 400lbs is no big deal.

"Too much of anything is bad, but too much of good whiskey is barely enough."

-Mark Twain

Posts: 416 | Registered: January 18, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
You mean like a deer stand? 10 feet or so above ground? Sch40 will get what you want, but I don’t know that I’d feel all warm and fuzzy about it….plus unless you paint it UV is a pvc killer….

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020

“A single round of buckshot to the torso almost always results in an immediate change of behavior.” Chris Baker

Posts: 11302 | Location: Temple, Texas! | Registered: October 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of smlsig
posted Hide Post
Just like sizing a post for a deck it depends on the height.