SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Watch Guys...Can I get some suggestions?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Watch Guys...Can I get some suggestions? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I'm a watch guy. It was mentioned earlier, but I will do a +1 for ORIS.
Here's why I say it:
All ORIS watches are mechanical/automatic. If you don't know the difference between quartz and mechanical, here's the basic: Quartz is very accurate but not built to last. You buy a good mechanical watch and it can be an heirloom.

ORIS is an independent watch company and in my opinion, they make watches that are way above their price range. I own two Aquis with the SW-200-1 movement and one gains less than a second a day and the other loses about 2 seconds a day. Only my Rolex Explorer 2 has better performance. It costs 5X more. The construction of an ORIS watch is on par with Omega. I have a Seamaster and when I hold it next to an Aquis, I can't find any noticeable quality differences other than the Omega has an in house movement.
Anyway, ORIS is a great buy it for life watch. That being said however, if you get into mechanical watches, you will own more than one.
Check out grey market dealers like jomashop.com. Legit watches but they don't come with factory warranties because these watches usually come from authorized dealers that sell watches to the grey maket to keep their volumes up. Good Luck and avoid Tag Heuer at all costs.

Posts: 662 | Location: Crestview Florida | Registered: July 23, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I've had a lot of watches. The divers always look like Rolex Submariners and I always liked that style. I have had either 4 or 5 subs, and only one kept good time. Sold all of them for as much or more than I paid. (That rarely happens to me).

I've had a lot of other Divers and all of them have been good. You can't go wrong with a Sinn.