SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Do you get offended if you are called a racial slur?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Do you get offended if you are called a racial slur? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Well, being of Indian ethnicity, I am obviously a bit darker skinned than most Caucasian people. So, over the years, I have been called a "sand-nigger", a "rice-nigger", among others. Usually, when I busted them at the University Gym, where I was a student manager. What was the most interesting was that I was called these racial slurs by fellow black students, and Arab students at the Univ of Michigan. Surprisingly, despite the University crowd seeming to think that white people were the 'real' racists, the people who used the racial slurs were the black and the Arab students. And many other students who worked with me had the same experience.

If you think you can, YOU WILL!!!!!

Posts: 3833 | Location: Wolverine-Land!!!! | Registered: August 20, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
In my mixed neighborhood on the late 40's, racial slurs were heard often with many resulting in fist fights. This was the coal mining region of Northeast Pennsylvania.

One person I remember being subjected to sometimes daily racial remarks was a German War bride who was married to a discharged Army veteran.

"Some people are alive today because it's against the law to kill them".

Posts: 8228 | Location: Arizona | Registered: August 17, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Most normal, well balanced people don't get too worked up on words. For my part I've become desensitized, and I bet many are - some things have been tossed around so much it carries less weight.

Posts: 513 | Location: SEMO | Registered: September 13, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Made from a
different mold
Picture of mutedblade
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Ryanp225:
I give no fucks.