SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Best method for moving a Motorcycle cross country?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best method for moving a Motorcycle cross country? Login/Join 
Picture of dwd1985
posted
I will soon be moving 2600 miles across the US. Trying to figure out what to do to get my motorcycle to the destination, but cant figure out the best way. Anyone have any recommendations? The options as I see them are:

-Ship it. I made a listing on uShip, but all of the quotes I got were $1000+

-Tow it. uHaul wont rent motorcycle trailers for one way trips. They offered the utility trailer instead, but I'm not sure that's the best option. My main goal is not having to tow anything for that distance, as I have a lot of experience towing trailers, and absolutely hate having to do so on a trip of that length.

-Load it. I could load the bike into the back of my truck, but I worry about its exposure and stability over that distance, as I feel like a strong cross wind, combined with a bump or two, might knock it over. I have also seen those trailer hitch mounted carriers like this: https://www.amazon.com/Motorcy...a-569654836010&psc=1

However, I don't know if this is a reliable option at all.

-Sell it. Buy a new one at my destination. I like my current bike, but I'm not emotionally invested in it. Its probably worth about $4000, and I would plan to buy another of the same type when I get where I'm going.

Has anyone used any or all of the above methods, and which did you think was best?

Posts: 4460 | Registered: October 28, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
thin skin can't win
Picture of Georgeair
posted Hide Post
Sounds like you don't favor towing, but another option is to buy a used bike trailer, tow it, and sell on the other end. Even if you lose a couple hundred or less still not a bad option.

You only have integrity once. - imprezaguy02