SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Have you given up shooting due to ammo prices / scarcity?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Have you given up shooting due to ammo prices / scarcity? Login/Join 
Picture of holdem
posted
I used to shoot a lot. I would make weekday trips to the range for fun. Then I started shooting matches and I would make weekday trips to the range to practice, setting up my own courses. I would go through hundreds of rounds without a second thought.

As the kids got out of diapers and my life started to revolve around them more, shooting went by the wayside. I think I have shot one match in the last 5 years and I could count on one hand the number of trips to the range during that time.

I have seen the posts about high ammo prices, but since I have not been shooting, I did not pay much attention. But after seeing the 500 round 9mm karma, and the 9mm group buy, I decided to actually do a little research and see what current prices are.

Holy crap!!! $.85 per round in the group buy, and $1.10-$1.20 per round for 9mm ammo that I could buy now.

I had to ask myself, if I had to purchase ammo at those prices, would I get back into or continue to shoot? And I was surprised that I quickly answered no. I would not even consider loading my P226 magazine, which I have in 15, 17 and 20 round versions and blowing through $18-$24 ammo in a string while double tapping a row of steel plates or punching holes in various USPSA cardboard targets.

I am sure everyone has curtailed the amount they shoot because of this. But have you given it up completely? And do you see ever returning if prices do not return to some semblance of normal?

Posts: 2292 | Location: Orlando | Registered: April 22, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Quit staring at my wife's Butt
Picture of XLT
posted Hide Post
I reload and it's 6.00 dollars for a 50 rd box, I can shoot a few years on what I have.