SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Professional Knowledge, the internet, personal experience, and the forum.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Professional Knowledge, the internet, personal experience, and the forum. Login/Join 
Certified All Positions
Picture of arcwelder
posted
This is one of those things where my Moderator hat will get all tangled with my personal opinion. As a disclaimer, what is about to be expressed is not the position of Sigforum. This won't become a written or unwritten rule. But as a professional, I have some issues with people posting about which things they don't have a full understanding.

We all know a member whose expertise was and often is still sought specifically. Why he isn't around, isn't just because people went to him for professional advice constantly. That would be an oversimplification.

We have a variety of professionals on the board.

We often have members asking questions, where the best information will be gathered from experienced professionals.

It is natural to want to help another member, and to offer information. In the best interest of that member, if the question doesn't pertain to your professional knowledge, at least wait a few minutes before wading in with your opinion, or what you googled. If you have direct experience, please share it in detail if it is relevant.

My expertise is in metalworking and light construction. Have you seen me posting in threads asking for legal advise? I would often echo a yearly thread about cleaning dryer vents due to overlap in experience, and I do have opinions on a variety of appliances and other fixtures.. but I know what I know and what I don't know.

I'm not telling anyone to not post in threads where members ask for help, and they aren't a professional in that field. What I'd like to see, is people just hang back a bit, and let the folks who deal with X topic on the daily, have a crack at it.