SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    reloading 9mm problem
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

reloading 9mm problem Login/Join 
posted
Hey all Im new to reloading and I bought a Dillion Precision RL550c and having some issues with some of the 9mm rounds I made. Was hoping someone could tell me what I am doing wrong. The problem is some of my rounds come out to large circumference is to big and some of the cases dont fit it in the case gauge, while some others do ? Can somebody tell me is it some of the brass cases or is my resizing die off? Thanks AR

Posts: 5 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: April 10, 2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Uppity Helot
posted Hide Post
Did you gauge your brass before loading?

I would not waste a primer on a case that won’t pass the gauge test.

Second what kind of bullets are you using?

Third what headstamp brass are you using?

Posts: 3122 | Location: Manheim, PA | Registered: September 04, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
No I didnt gauge them newbie mistake, I am using all diffrent head stamp brass from range that I picked up, as for bullets I am using berry 115 grain fmj round nose

Posts: 5 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: April 10, 2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Inject yourself!
posted Hide Post
How far does the round go into the case gauge? Halfway or less, it’s probably size die setup. 90% in, maybe has a bulge just above the rim. Only the rim hanging up, it might be a dinged or out of round rim or potentially needs more crimp.

A couple things:
Is your sizing die set to just a business card thickness off the shell plate when the handle is all the way down?
Is the Die clean?
What case gauge? Does it plunk and spin in your barrel and drop out freely?
Do you use a good lube like Hornady One Shot?

Several cases are less friendly, CBC, S&B, mostly foreign brands.