SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Wet tumbling brass changes case mouth flaring? Long post mystery...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wet tumbling brass changes case mouth flaring? Long post mystery... Login/Join 
Web Clavin Extraordinaire
Picture of Oat_Action_Man
posted
Help me out here with a perplexing issue.

Press is a Dillon 750. Hadn't reloaded anything in months. Everything sat, as left when I last loaded 9mm, on its tool stand. No monkeying with dies or anything.

Decided to invest in a wet tumbler instead of the media tumbling I've been doing for going on twenty years.

I size/deprime before I tumble. Done the same thing regardless of what tumbling method I use.

Ran two batches of sized 9mm cases through the wet tumbler. Increased the detergent and Lemishine on the second batch to make it shinier.

Set up to load, as per usual. Powder throw was perfectly as I left it, seat depth as I left it, crimp as a left it. All 5x5.

But the cases basically didn't flare at all. I often had to really wrench to get the expander out of the case. Lots of brass shavings down in the shellplate. Way, way more effort to pull the expander out than ever before. And like no belling at all.

Loaded hundreds and more or less none of them run through a case gauge. All the cases gauged just fine after sizing, but it's pretty obvious that the lack of belling is causing bullets to seat cattywampus and cause bulging on one side or another.

The shinier cases never gauge correctly. The slightly less shiny batch are a bit better, but nowhere near acceptable.

As an experiment, I pulled the powder measure and set the powder die down a bit to get more flaring. With the same die setting, the less shiny cases showed more flare than the shinier ones. Roll Eyes Loaded about 12 rounds with this new setting and overall, the gauge much better, but still not close to my old standard.