SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    What's the least amount of ammo you've tested a new gun?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What's the least amount of ammo you've tested a new gun? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Usually after 200 fmj rounds and a 50 rd box of holler points I’d consider it reliable

P229 Enhanced Elite
P229R
P229

Posts: 60 | Location: Ga | Registered: August 01, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
One box of Speer gold dots. (50)
When I went to a G19 from a Khar 9.
I had shot Glocks for years but never carried one for EDC. Once I saw the HP ammo would feed with no problem, I went with it.

It didn’t hurt that the range master had given me the box of ammo either.

But I did carry a 5 shot revolver on an ankle holster for a BUG, when I was a cop and I only ran two cylinders thru it before I qualified with it…so technically it was 50 rnds for the qual but only 10 rounds for the test.

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020

“A single round of buckshot to the torso almost always results in an immediate change of behavior.” Chris Baker

Posts: 11247 | Location: Temple, Texas! | Registered: October 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Giftedly Outspoken
Picture of sigarms229
posted Hide Post
It use to be 500 ball and 100 carry but the times lately have made me re-evaluate that.

The last 2 new carry guns I bought were a Wilson Combat Beretta 92 and a Shadow Systems MR920. Both got 200rds of ball ammo and 50 of carry ammo and at that point I'm ok with carrying them.

Sometimes, you gotta roll the hard six

Posts: 4507 | Location: SouthCentral PA | Registered: December 05, 1999Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Be Like Mike
Picture of CEShooter
posted Hide Post