SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    LEOs and anyone who wears a vest to work...how do you carry your BUG?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

LEOs and anyone who wears a vest to work...how do you carry your BUG? Login/Join 
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted
I've been carrying a P320 Subcompact on my ankle at work for the last 5 years or so, and before that it was a G26. I shoot the P320 well, and I like the fact that it can use my duty gun mags if necessary. It is kind of large and heavy, but it has worked well for me over the years. Unfortunately, the doc is telling me that I have to take care of my feet because my circulation is going to degrade now that I'm diabetic. Basically wearing a velcro tourniquet around my calf with a 2lb gun in it is probably not conducive to good circulation, so things have gotta change.

I've seen some of the vest strap setups, but we wear outer carriers (the kind that look like a uniform shirt, but aren't), and I haven't been able to figure out how to make that work with those. To further complicate things, we're getting new vests and carriers in a month or so (should have them now but the uniform guy FUBARed the order like he always does)...so I'm not even 100% sure what I'll be working with. From what I hear, they're supposed to have moly loops along the bottom half, and more of a uniform look to the top.

I'd like to stick with the P320SC, if possible, since it's issued, but I also have a J-frame in .38 that I could use if I can't find a way to make the 320 work. Honestly, I'd feel safer carrying the J-Frame in most non-traditional locations than the 320 with it's light striker-fired trigger. It also doesn’t have to be vest carry, either...I just need to find a way to get it off my ankle.