SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    shoulder holster for driving?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

shoulder holster for driving? Login/Join 
posted
Not crazy about shoulder holsters but find myself driving from AZ to FL again. Appendix and IWB are uncomfortable for extended sitting/driving. Going trough El Paso so need a little better than a 365.
Thinking 320 compact or carry. Maybe a 19.
Don't need all that extra mag carrier stuff.
Could get a lightweight vest as a cover.
No preference on leather, kydex etc.
Also a lightweight vest idea?

Posts: 1651 | Location: SC | Registered: December 10, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Laugh or Die
posted Hide Post
Have you just considered a crossdraw holster instead? That's what I wore when I was a cab driver.

Posts: 10199 | Location: NC | Registered: May 17, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm right handed so would need to thread my belt through every time I went to take it off.

Posts: 1651 | Location: SC | Registered: December 10, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nullus Anxietas
Picture of ensigmatic
posted Hide Post
It is unclear as to just what are your questions.

Does a shoulder holster work well when driving? Yes, it does.

What would I recommend? Dunno. Used to be it would have been an Alessi Bodyguard, but Alessi is out of business. I'm thinking my next shoulder rig will be an Andrews Monarch.

Don't understand why one wouldn't want an off-side carrier or carriers. One of the big advantages of a shoulder rig is how much extra ammo you can carry comfortably.

Btw: I've carried my Walther PPS M2 in its Kydex IWB holster for hours-on-end, sometimes extended driving, and it's never been uncomfortable. Maybe you just need a better IWB holster?

"America is at that awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system,,,, but too early to shoot the bastards." -- Claire Wolfe