SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Are Ruger AR-15's Any Good?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Are Ruger AR-15's Any Good? Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
I really want to buy my first AR-15 and an old school Colt AR15A4 that is modeled after my trusty Army M16A2 is on the list but I was checking out Ruger's offerings and they look pretty good as well.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the world of AR purchasing so any help here would be appreciated.

Budget is $1200

Thanks!

Posts: 33608 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of P250UA5
posted Hide Post
Coworker bought a complete/assembled upper & lower from Palmetto State Armory.
With shipping, tax & transfer, I think he was 'OTD' for around $700.

Rather plain jane, carbine gas, 16" with a front sight gas block. Can't remember if his came with a rear sight or not.

My 16" Mid-gas was less than your total budget (all self assembled) with panic pricing around the time of Sandy Hook.

To your OP, no personal experience with Ruger ARs.

The Enemy's gate is down.

Posts: 15154 | Location: Spring, TX | Registered: July 11, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
For real?
Picture of Chowser
posted Hide Post
Coworker had a Ruger AR. IIRC, the delta ring was not a true delta ring. It was something that screwed on or off?

Not minority enough!

Posts: 7993 | Location: Cleveland, OH | Registered: August 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Web Clavin Extraordinaire
Picture of Oat_Action_Man
posted Hide Post
Don't have a Ruger, but I've not heard bad things about them. Usually hear they're pretty accurate for the price (which I also hear for the bolt rifles Ruger has been producing lately).

And for $1200, do you want that to be the all-in price, optics and accessories included, or just the base rifle price?