SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Belt fed advice/opinion
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Belt fed advice/opinion Login/Join 
posted
So, I’m looking to jump into a belt fed platform. I’m considering the FN 249s and the Browning 1919. For those of you who own or have used them, I’m in need of opinions as I’ve had no experience with either. Thanks.

Posts: 503 | Registered: June 03, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I am looking at an ares defense upper. Might be of interest to you.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: 1flynDO,

Posts: 1740 | Registered: December 04, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you have the dufflebag full of Benjamins to toss in the fire, I suggest the M249S. Factory produced and warrantied by FN, uses the full array of M249 accessories, and at least the one I had wasn’t picky on used vs new links. It was way too easy to burn 500+ rounds in less than an hour with ammo pre-linked and spare barrels on hand.

Posts: 659 | Registered: February 10, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have a 249s and its very nice, but the ares defense (fightlite) upper has some advantages if you happen to have an sbr or registered lower. I have no experience with a 1919 but would love to have one, but I think I'm way better off wasting 5.56 IMO.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 10966 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I definitely like the “wow” factor and the availability of accessories for the 249s, plus much more portable than the 1919. And I also know my great grandkids won’t be able to wear out the 1919.

posted Hide Post