SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Guidance on first M14/M1A
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Guidance on first M14/M1A Login/Join 
Domari Nolo
Picture of Chris17404
posted
Hi, all.

I have read many posts on M14's/M1A's on this forum for several years and watched several of instructional videos including those by our own Tony Ben. I am looking to purchase my first M14-style rifle and was hoping to get some guidance.

I am a hobbyist shooter, and an armed citizen. I won’t be shooting thousands of rounds through this rifle every year. I'm not a precision shooter, and I likely wouldn't use this rifle for self-defense. I'm basically looking for a rifle that I'm passionate about that has nostalgia and soul that I can enjoy shooting at my range regularly. I am also more of a shooter than a tinkerer. Because of that, I typically plan out my purchase and make it happen, rather than building things up one part at a time.

I do not require MOA accuracy. So translating this into the M14 world, perhaps something in the 1.5-2 MOA range would be perfect. I should emphasize that the majority of the shooting this rifle will see will be 100 yards or less, but the ability to reach further out to 200-500 yards would be nice. I hope that makes sense and characterizes my goal with this rifle.

Some specifics:
- Reliable and made with quality parts that will last a lifetime, yet does not have to be period-correct or all USGI parts. The emphasis is on quality and reliability.
- Traditional 22” barrel, medium weight
- .308 caliber
- Cast receiver is fine, forged is fine, whichever
- Solid, tight-fitting stock, but no need to bed it. I want to be able to take the stock off for maintenance and not worry about damaging the bedding.
- 2-stage trigger, the SAI Loaded-style trigger is perfectly fine to me, 4.5-5 lbs. with a clean break is fine