SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    300 blackout AR short-stroking
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

300 blackout AR short-stroking Login/Join 
Yeah, that M14 video guy...
Picture of benny6
posted
I was at the range today with my M14's and Savage but the guy down the line had an AR in 300 blackout, new.

After talking with me and looking at my targets, he got the impression I was an expert and asked me to check out his rifle. First thing I noticed is that it was bone-dry. I broke out the CLP and lubed the thing.

I then loaded a 10 round PMAG and shot the rifle. It would either short stroke and re-chamber the fired brass, or eject a case and jam when feeding the next round. Most of the time, it just didn't eject.

I asked him to observe the bolt as I shot and he said it only went back half way and went back forward.

This was the only 300 blackout I've ever shot. I told him it was most likely under-gassed but I didn't have my borescope to check the gas port.

Is there a specific common problem with 300 BO's and short-stroking, or am I on the right track. We exchanged numbers and I might reach out to him later to see if he needs help.

Also, he was shooting Armscor ammo.

Tony.

Owner, TonyBen, LLC, Type-07 FFL
www.tonybenm14.com (Site under construction).
e-mail: tonyben@tonybenm14.com

Posts: 5397 | Location: Auburndale, FL | Registered: February 13, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Web Clavin Extraordinaire
Picture of Oat_Action_Man
posted Hide Post
What weight buffer was being used?

Was the ammo super- or subsonic? What barrel and gas system length? Does the gun have an adjustable gas block (that's too restricted)?

Probably unrelated to what you observed, but I'm assuming a standard 5.56 PMag and not a .300BLK specific one (since those are only available in 30 rnds at the moment). Heavy subsonic loads didn't always play well with 5.56 mag geometry and followers.

----------------------------