SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Lever action manufacturers quality question
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lever action manufacturers quality question Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
It broke my heart to see Marlin at the bottom of the OP's list, but I'm probably a little biased. I've been shooting my 39A for the last 44 years and wouldn't trade it, nor my 39D for any other brand of rifle. I made the mistake of waiting too long on tracking down the 1894C, but I'll keep my hopes up that things change, either on my funding end or on the pricing end.
I'd go Marlin all day long, but my opinion is based on the .22 caliber, so take it with a grain of salt.
Thanks,
LaMont in AZ

Posts: 41 | Location: Apache Junction, AZ | Registered: November 08, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Bolt Thrower
Picture of Voshterkoff
posted Hide Post
You used to be able to find a decent 94 in .30-30 for $300, those days are long gone.

Posts: 9942 | Location: Woodinville, WA | Registered: March 30, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Uppity Helot
posted Hide Post
My late production REMLIN .357 (Marlin under Remington ownership) has been good out of the box. The early production REMLIN’s were frequent QC nightmares. I too expect Ruger will eventually do the Marlin name justice. Until then Marlins of any type are stupid expensive and you are better off looking at another brand of lever action.

Posts: 3126 | Location: Manheim, PA | Registered: September 04, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
quote:
It broke my heart to see Marlin at the bottom of the OP's list, but I'm probably a little biased.

I can relate. I wouldn't trade ANY Marlin for a Rossi or a Henry. I'll admit to maybe being a little biased, but I'd like to think that my bias is based on factual experience.