SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Need help deciding 9mm or 45 for new 1911/ new ? Pg 3
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need help deciding 9mm or 45 for new 1911/ new ? Pg 3 Login/Join 
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted
Mrs. Mike and I expect to pay off our house in a few months…with every milestone, I have purchased a gun to commemorate it.

I’m looking at a Dan Wesson Vigil (commander) 1911. I’ve had three or maybe four 1911’s in my lifetime and carried one in the service. I want a commander sized gun for EDC. I have a commander steel framed 1911 now. I love the G43x I have now but it will be one of those things…I know the G43X has more ammo and always works..I just want to carry a 1911. When I was a cop I was prevented from carrying one and now I can.

But this pistol comes in 45ACP and 9mm..

I can shoot any caliber, I’m just thinking that the 9mm will be softer in recoil and I’d get two more rounds and be faster to shoot.

Any input would be helpful. I reload for both calibers so that’s not gonna be an issue.

The Vigil is an aluminum framed steel slide 1911. It’s an all work, no extra frills gun that has the parts you need and no extras you won’t. The 45 has a regular barrel and the 9mm has a ramped barrel if that makes a difference. And it’s a series 70.

Anyone with a 9mm 1911 commander please let me know what you think.

***added question, does having a ramped barrel matter with hollow points…I intend to carry this for self defense and I will use Speer gold dots…if they run thru a regular non-ramped barrel in both calibers then it doesn’t matter but if they won’t work in a regular barrel I’ll go for the ramped barrel that will.

https://danwessonfirearms.com/...uct/vigil-commander/

This message has been edited. Last edited by: MikeinNC,

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020