SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    UPDATE: Resolved. Cheap Guns and associated issues: My son's new Ruger Wrangler
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

UPDATE: Resolved. Cheap Guns and associated issues: My son's new Ruger Wrangler Login/Join 
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted
A couple of weeks ago, with the help of a welder buddy, I built a dueling tree. It's got a set of centerfire and a set of rimfire paddles. My oldest (13 y/o) and I have been shooting it quite a bit the past few weeks, primarily with rimfire lever-actions. He quickly decided that he needed a rimfire handgun of his own so he can take me and my single-six on. He's been working odd jobs and had some money saved up, so we went shopping.

I'm not a big proponent of bargain basement guns. I was hoping to find him a used single-six somewhere for a reasonable price, but from looking around, it doesn't appear that that's a thing these days. Everything I found was well over $500, even old and beat examples. That left the Heritage Rough Rider and the Ruger Wrangler. I can't abide the safety on the Heritage...it's cheap, plastic, and positioned such that it interferes with the way I grip a single-action. We found a shop that had Wrangler's on sale for $200, and my son liked the "stainless" one, so we went with that.

The shop actually had .22 ammo in stock, so we bough our limit of 2 50 round boxes of Armscor while we were there. I had happened upon a 500 round box of the same stuff at Dunhams a few weeks earlier, and had shot it through my guns with no problems, so I figured it would be a decent buy.