SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Sig 1911, oil, grease or slide glide?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sig 1911, oil, grease or slide glide? Login/Join 
Picture of tha1000
posted Hide Post
I was a grease guy until I started shooting a lot. Oil holds less gunk. I run em wet and clean every couple K rounds.

Posts: 5383 | Location: MS | Registered: June 09, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I went to a top gun shooting school for a week long class.

The 3 instructors I had all oiled their guns. Only one was a 1911 guy.
The head instructor told us that he used Mobil 1 motor oil, as well as most of the police depts he trains and the one he works for.

Never tried the Mobil 1 but used Slick 2000 extreme. WE put 600-650 rds downrange with no malfunctions on my and my sons Sig 1911s.

I always have used oil and going to Slick 2000 extreme made it much smoother.

Whatever works for you.

NRA Life Endowment member
Tri-State Gun collectors Life Member

Posts: 2794 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 18, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have the Sig 1911 RCS model and have used US Military Weapons Medium Grease on it since it was new. I use the gun a lot, it's my primary .45 CCW, but seldom shoot it more than 50 rounds at a single range session. I clean it after shooting and re-grease per Gray Guns suggestions. With over 2000 rounds fired, there is no discernible wear. HTH's Rod

5th Spl Forces, Air Force Bird Dog FAC, lll Corps RVN 69-70.... We enjoy the Bill of Rights by the sacrifices of our veterans;
Politicians, Preachers, Educators, Journalists and Community Organizers are beneficiaries, not defenders of our freedoms.

Posts: 728 | Registered: April 04, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Uppity Helot
posted Hide Post
I am using Shooters Choice grease on my 1911’s. If I didn’t have that I would be ok with CLP/Breakfree.