SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Revolvers and the younger generation
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Revolvers and the younger generation Login/Join 
Diablo Blanco
Picture of dking271
posted
A different thread got me thinking about the younger generation and their snubbing of revolvers for self defense. I’ll start with saying I’m a Gen Xr’ staring down the barrel of 50 later this year. When I started shooting and training nearly 30 years ago, the best trained instructor I had ever met or trained with back then carried a S&W 66 snubbie. It was amazing to watch him shoot. It got me hooked into revolvers and to this day wheel guns make up about half of my collection.

My 29 year old nephew looks at revolvers like they’re old nostalgic toys that only “boomers” should play with. Ironic, coming from a 1911 fanatic that is struggling to grasp the new lightweight wonder nines. He has a P365 but isn’t comfortable with it or shooting it well yet. His dad is a 1911 guy but has some revolvers like myself.

My 22 year old son loves his Glock 45 and X5 Legion and is shooting them extremely well after going through an OpSpec course last summer. The weird thing with him is he seems to really love revolvers too. Doesn’t look at them disparagingly like most kids his age and loves to train with me on them. My question, anyone else raise a kid that respects and likes old school “boomer” guns?

Any boomers or younger folks carrying revolvers other than J frames for self defense?

Posts: 2960 | Location: Middle-TN | Registered: November 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Daughters are intimidated by my SAA, but both my sons love it. Ironically, my wife loves her Micro 9, but has already called dibs on the SAA when I take my dirt nap someday.

"I won't engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed man."

Posts: 29 | Location: TX | Registered: October 14, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post