SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    3 lug adaptors
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

3 lug adaptors Login/Join 
Picture of Tiger 2 Tank
posted
Hello,
I am really new at suppressors. I am building an SBR Scorpion and want to eventually put a suppressor on it. I want a 3 lug adaptor, so my question is; are all three lug adaptors the same?

Probably a very easy thing to see, but just want to make sure.

Posts: 968 | Location: Texas | Registered: May 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
To be clear, you’re asking about the 3 lug mount that is attached to the muzzle, not the 3 lug adapter that goes on the rear of a suppressor, right? If so, they should work if they are designed to HK spec. Personally, I use the HK Parts 3 lug mounts, but there are others that work. A lot of people seem to like the ILWT ones. Might be easier to ask for ones that have problems, or ask about a specific mount you want to buy.

Posts: 3321 | Location: South FL | Registered: February 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
To expand a bit on Dwill104. From the point of 3 lug on 9mm provided its HK spec they are all the same in terms of suppressor mounting on the gun side, that's the actual point. But when buying one you have to match the barrel end of the adapter to the threads on your barrel (on a scorpion this is a generational issue) and many vendors also offer a 3 lug adapter that is 3lug and also have 1/2x28 threads at the same time. I don't like these FWIW, but many seem happy and they are more universal in the sense of you could mount something that doesn't offer a 3 lug mount on the suppressor side. I've used a number of different mfg. and really noticed no material difference. I like the rugged ones since they have the go/nogo markings and the ILWT ones. But they all are essentially the same under the covers.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”