SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    If you ever wondered about traveling/flying with a suppressor
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

If you ever wondered about traveling/flying with a suppressor Login/Join 
Picture of Dead_Eye
posted
I'll start by saying I'm not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice. This is what I was able to find out by calling various government and state agencies.

I live in a suppressor friendly state and am flying to a suppressor friendly state. However, the airport I'm using is located in a state that doesn't allow suppressors and I couldn't find anything, anywhere that would explain if this was going to be an issue or not.

First off, the airline allows the transport of suppressors and outlined how they are to be transported. Check.

Next, the BATF&E does not require a 5320.20 to transport suppressors over state lines. Check.

I called the state police barracks located at the airport and explained what I was trying to do. The first time I called they transferred me to TSA where they said they don't have any issue but it's a state police issue. So I called the state police barracks and got a Sargent who fielded my questions. Here's the summary:

Interstate transportation of firearms is allowed so long as they're transported according to the statute (18 U.S. Code § 926A). As for transporting suppressors (considered firearms) as long as all the appropriate paperwork (tax stamp, trust paperwork, etc.) can be provided to show that the person can legally own the suppressor he, the officer that I spoke with, would not make an issue of it. Check?

I've traveled through this airport before with firearms and standard capacity mags that are illegal in this state. No objection was made at the ticket counter and no problem with the state. If an objection was made, I don't know how it would have ended up.

So that's the best I am able to come up with. Here's section 926A below for reference.