SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    Sandman "K" on 9" barreled Galil Ace 556
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sandman "K" on 9" barreled Galil Ace 556 Login/Join 
Picture of pulicords
posted
Yesterday I had an opportunity to use my Sandman "K" suppressor on the 9" barreled Galil Ace 556 that I SBR'd a few months ago. Tried it out indoors and as expected there was still plenty of flash and noise, but the level of blast did seem to be mitigated somewhat. When my buddy fired his ported .38 Super handgun afterwards, it seemed even worse. Realistically, I guess mitigation was all I could hope for.

I'll be using this device on a couple of 16" barreled 5.56 ARs and my Tavor X95 in .300 BLK too. I went with the Sandman "K" in part because I wanted to keep the OAL as short as possible and going with a longer suppressor didn't seem to be heading in that direction. Am I missing anything here? I'm still new at this suppressor thing and it presents a number of conundrums.

"I'm not fluent in the language of violence, but I know enough to get around in places where it's spoken."

Posts: 10187 | Location: The Free State of Arizona | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
What is the
soup du jour?

posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by pulicords: Am I missing anything here? I'm still new at this suppressor thing and it presents a number of conundrums.

I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last nigh, so take the following with a grain of salt. From what I have gleaned, the shorter the barrel you go with, the more benefit you gain with a longer suppressor. "K" suppressors seem to be most effective on the 14.5" to 16" barrels, as the full size cans will almost always be net quieter on the 14.5/16" barrels. But the result at your ear may not be significant to offset the increased weight/length (ie reduced maneuverability).