SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Teenager sucking up internet bandwidth, help with router settings?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Teenager sucking up internet bandwidth, help with router settings? Login/Join 
posted
We have a teenager in the house and he Facetimes and games online at the same time. We have Spectrum internet and can get download speeds of 200 MBS. Upload are usually 5-10.

We only have issues when he is here and gaming. I have a Asus RT-AC3100 Router. I am far from a techie. Is there a good way to prioritize devices? Would creating a guest network for him be best to prevent him from sucking up our bandwidth? Should this even be a problem with download speeds like that? I couldn't even load a webpage on my phone and the wired internet connection was barely working for streaming TV but he was gaming.

Hopefully someone can help so we can let him enjoy his gaming but not prevent us from getting done what we need to.

Posts: 706 | Registered: November 04, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
eh-TEE-oh-clez
Picture of Aeteocles
posted Hide Post
First, 200mbps is should be plenty. Most games do not actually take much bandwidth while playing. A streaming movie typically takes more bandwidth than gameplay does. There's a caveat here though: if he hasn't played a particular game in a while, or if he's starting a new game, most games go through a really aggressive period of downloading updates, maps, and content when you start it. This is likely the culprit, not the gameplay itself.

Second, confirm that you are actually getting 200mbps. Use Speedtest.net to test speeds. Remember, bandwidth by your ISP is provided as a theoretical maximum. A WiFi connection will be far less efficient, as distance from your router, walls, and other devices competing for signal space will affect your connection.