Notify
Tools

Ipad question Login/Join 
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted
I just bought an older ipad air.

I am trying to set it up and when I get to backup from icloud thats it. It says the OS isn’t current enough.

Is there some way around that?

Thanks,
Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4581 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Son of a son
of a Sailor
Picture of wxdave
posted Hide Post
Does it prompt you to update it before performing the restore? It's supposed to do that.

--------------------------------------------
Floridian by birth, Seminole by the grace of God

Posts: 986 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: May 20, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of bigdeal
posted Hide Post
Nope. I have an older iPad mini that's in the same boat. Apple only provides OS updates for a finite period of time, after which you're stuck with an ipad that only 'kinda' works.

-----------------------------
Guns are awesome because they shoot solid lead freedom. Every man should have several guns. And several dogs, because a man with a cat is a woman. Kurt Schlichter

Posts: 33845 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: April 30, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Thank you
Very little
Picture of HRK
posted Hide Post
had that issue picked up one on Woot, it was too old to update and allow the installation of many apps including Amazon Kindle app.

Woot took it back and we had to choose a model and pay a bit more, which was fine, to get one that will update properly.

Posts: 23457 | Location: Florida | Registered: November 07, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of 2012BOSS302
posted Hide Post
Are you able to just set it up as new (not from a back up)?

Are you trying to cloud back up from an ipad that had a newer ios version not supported by that air?

Here is a list of ipads and the final ios supported.