SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    anyone use Tekton or Capri tools?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

anyone use Tekton or Capri tools? Login/Join 
Unapologetic Old
School Curmudgeon
Picture of Lord Vaalic
posted
I have usually in the past used Craftsman or Snap-On tools, but I used them for a living and they were used very hard. I don't wrench on stuff anymore and I need some for home use now, I see these have some sets for reasonable prices, but are they crap?

Don't weep for the stupid, or you will be crying all day

Posts: 10730 | Location: TN | Registered: December 18, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of konata88
posted Hide Post
I have some tekton stuff. Been okay for the price around the house. Made in Taiwan so a little more comfortable than prc. Not the same feel as US made but they haven’t broken and caused injury during use yet.

Wrenches, torque wrench, hacksaw, some drivers.

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 12751 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
To all of you who are serving or have served our country, Thank You
Picture of Jelly
posted Hide Post
I have some Capri tools so far they have done the job and not failed. The Capri tools I bought were Made in Taiwan and seemed like a step up from many made in China tools.

Posts: 2681 | Registered: March 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I ordered this set of Tekton gunsmith punches from Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/prod...ilpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They come with a really nice laser engraved walnut base and I've used them a couple of times - once to free a stuck firing pin on my dubious purchase of a Remington R51. (Love the ergonomics, it hasn't proven its reliability).

The pin punches seem very well made, and I suspect they will outlast me.

drendean