SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Businesses and Remote Work - How can this be prosperous?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Businesses and Remote Work - How can this be prosperous? Login/Join 
bigger government
= smaller citizen
Picture of Veeper
posted
I work in IT for a company that does roughly 2.2B revenue annually. We're growing at, what seems to be, a healthy rate. We've acquired some smaller companies and have our sights set on some more. The ingestion of the smaller companies is primarily a means of gaining access to their clients (of course), their engineering staff and certifications, and also any proprietary products.

So far so good.

In the last couple years, I've seen us swerve quite heavily into the "work from home" or "work remotely" side of things. I really don't want to rehash WHY that is here. We all know.

I don't understand how, long term, this can possibly be prosperous for companies.

First of all, 90 percent of the employees/users that are remote are not accessible. We use Slack as an instant messaging system internally and these remote users may be online during the day, but never before 9:30AM (their time) and NEVER past 3PM (their time). Meetings are always expected to take place between these hours, and even though its not a stated policy, users do reject meetings that "start too early" or happen "too late in the day".

What's worse, this is bleeding into the culture as a de-facto start time for people that actually do live in town, near a corporate office. One of my coworkers, on my team, rolled in at 9:40 this AM and he only lives 10m away. No one, and I mean NO ONE, will challenge him on this. No one will ask what the first two hours of his salaried day looked like. No one cares, except maybe me.