SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Lessons Learned From Apple's Collapse
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lessons Learned From Apple's Collapse Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
Interesting article on Zero Hedge today about Apple's woes right now.

Let me be clear, I like Apple and own their phones and computers but I have been saying this for a couple years now:

1. Steve Jobs WAS Apple. This current Apple is not the Apple of Steve Jobs. They seem to have plateaued on innovation without him

2. Their phones COST TOO MUCH and their decision to double down and make them even more expensive seems to be a giant misstep

Everyone who wants a smartphone has a smartphone and the time between replacements is starting to stretch out as they get more expensive.

quote:

The iPhone is a mature product and the high-end smartphone market is saturated, with most of the unit growth a function of the replacement cycle. In support of this view is the company's decision to stop disclosing iPad and iPhone unit shipments.

Since the introduction of the iPhone X, Apple has been raising prices. ASPs (average selling prices) in the most recent reporting period buoyed sales (up 24%) even though unit sales were flat. This briefly buoyed Apple's shares, but it is more likely representative of "Peak Apple (Margins)." (Note: Beginning in late 2017 I began to get concerned about demand elasticity from high-priced iPhones.)

With a lack of significant product innovation, those higher iPhone prices will likely elongate the replacement cycle from slightly under two years to as much as four years.